The November 3, 2020 election in nearly five months away, but any candidate who wishes to appear on the ballot in Minnesota must file before June 2. The filing period for the 2020 election opened on Tuesday, May 19 and will remain open through Tuesday, June 2. The year is a presidential election, but voters in Brown County will also be able to select new County Commission and city officials. Three County Commissioners seats held by First District Commissioner Dave Borchert, Second District Commissioner Anton “Tony” Berg and Third District Commissioner Scott Windschitl are up for election this year. In all three districts the incumbent has filed to run for reelection and is currently running unopposed. Three Solid and Water Supervisor districts are also up for election this year, but at this time no candidate has filed. Brown County will also see multiple civic elections this year. Cobden, Comfrey, Evan, Hanska, New Ulm, Sleepy Eye and Springfield have at least one council seat up for election this year. New Ulm has three council seats up for election. Sleepy Eye and Springfield have a mayoral election and two council seats on the ballot. According to the Minnesota Secretary of State website, no candidates have file for any city or township election in Brown County.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here